Thomas, Harman both looking for 1st major in Round 4's final group

Justin Thomas’ record-setting 63 on Saturday vaulted him into a tie for second and sealed a spot in the final grouping with leader Brian Harman for the final round of the 117th U.S. Open.

After Thomas posted his incredible round of 9-under-par, Harman poured in three birdies on his back-9 to hold a one-stroke lead heading into Sunday. The pair will tee off last at 3:54 p.m. ET (2:54 p.m. local time) both looking for their first major title.

Brooks Koepka and Tommy Fleetwood joined Thomas at 11-under with matching 68s and will play together for the second straight day in the penultimate pairing.

After numerous close calls in the biggest events on the calendar, first-round leader Rickie Fowler sits in good shape to win his first major, teeing off at 3:32 p.m. ET (2:32 p.m. local time) with Si Woo Kim.

Patrick Reed also shot up the leaderboard with a low round, as the Ryder Cup hero posted a 7-under 65, and finds himself in the fourth-last grouping with Russell Henley.

Group Player 1 Player 2 Time (ET)
1 Haotong Li Kevin Dougherty 9:51 a.m.
2 Tyler Light Ernie Els 10:02 a.m.
3 Talor Gooch William McGirt 10:13 a.m.
4 Stewart Cink Kevin Kisner 10:24 a.m.
5 Jordan Spieth Keegan Bradley 10:35 a.m.
6 Lee Westwood Daniel Summerhays 10:46 a.m.
7 Jason Kokrak Yusaku Miyazato 10:57 a.m.
8 Stephan Jaeger Shane Lowry 11:08 a.m.
9 Jordan Niebrugge Gary Woodland 11:19 a.m.
10 Adam Hadwin Thomas Aiken 11:30 a.m.
11 Kevin Na Ryan Brehm 11:41 a.m.
12 Martin Kaymer Brandon Stone 11:52 a.m.
13 Rafa Cabrera Bello Webb Simpson 12:03 p.m.
14 Harris English Satoshi Kodaira 12:14 p.m.
15 Andrew Johnston Jonathan Randolph 12:25 p.m.
16 Whee Kim Martin Laird 12:36 p.m.
17 Branden Grace Matt Kuchar 12:47 p.m.
18 Jack Maguire Scottie Scheffler (a) 12:58 p.m.
19 Michael Putnam Kevin Chappell 1:09 p.m.
20 Steve Stricker David Lingmerth 1:20 p.m.
21 Matthew Fitzpatrick Jim Furyk 1:31 p.m.
22 Zach Johnson Paul Casey 1:42 p.m.
23 Jamie Lovemark Cameron Champ (a) 1:53 p.m.
24 Marc Leishman Chez Reavie 2:04 p.m.
25 Sergio Garcia Eddie Pepperell 2:15 p.m.
26 Trey Mullinax Louis Oosthuizen 2:26 p.m.
27 J.B. Holmes Hideki Matsuyama 2:37 p.m.
28 Bernd Wiesberger Xander Schauffele 2:48 p.m.
29 Brandt Snedeker Brendan Steele 2:59 p.m.
30 Bill Haas Charley Hoffman 3:10 p.m.
31 Russell Henley Patrick Reed 3:21 p.m.
32 Si Woo Kim Rickie Fowler 3:32 p.m.
33 Tommy Fleetwood Brooks Koepka 3:43 p.m.
34 Justin Thomas Brian Harman 3:54 p.m.

Copyright © 2017 Score Media Ventures Inc. All rights reserved. Certain content reproduced under license.

For Entire Article